RSSAf Annual Dinner & Awards Evening 2016

The Society’s Annual Dinner, Induction of Fellows and Medal Awards was held on the evening of Tuesday, 27th September from 19h15 in the Trafalgar Room at the Royal Natal Yacht Club, Yacht Mole, Durban.  It was attended by 38 people including a number of Fellows of long standing, Professors Manfred Hellberg (1992), Peter Leach (1998), Tony Ford (1998) and Salim Abdool Karim (2003)

MC Dr Graham Avery (Councillor) warmly welcomed all those present and noted special guests : Professor Albert van Jaarsveld,  Vice Chancellor of the University of KwaZulu-Natal and Professor Salim Abdool Karim, Director of Caprisa and Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) of the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

Fellows inducted 2016

The following Fellows were inducted by Vice President, Dr Margaret Avery and Councillor Em.Professor Cesareo Dominguez : Emeritus Professor Norman W Pammenter (2011), School of Biological & Conservation Sciences, University of Kwazulu-Natal ; Christopher C Appleton (2015), Emeritus Professor, School of Life Sciences, University of KwaZulu-Natal ; Lynn Morris (2015), Professor and Chief Specialist Scientist, National Institute for Communicable Diseases (NICD) and Lyn Wadley (2014), Honorary Professor, Department of Archaeology, Institute for Human Evolution and Centre of Excellence in Palaeosciences, Evolutionary Studies Institute, University of the Witwatersrand.

After the main course the John FW Herschel Medal for 2016 was presented to Professor
Robert Millar FRSSAf, Director: Mammal Research Institute, University of Pretoria by Professor Albert van Jaarsveld

Hon. Treasurer Pierre Janssens introduced the post-prandial speaker, Professor Francis Thackeray FRSSAf of the Evolutionary Studies Institute at the University of the Witwatersrand and current President of the Society.   Francis gave a very entertaining talk entitled “Reflections on matters concerning human evolution: Wow, How, When, What?” in which he revealed that the famous Mrs Ples had been recently discovered to be instead a Mr Ples!

The evening ended with Toasts to the Society and the Country by General Secretary Judy Mann and Councillor Dr Llewellyn Foxcroft.  

Thank you to KZN Branch Chair and Councillor, Dr Edith Elliott for taking photographs and to all the other guests for making the evening such a success.